Open Traralgon Marathon website in a new window
Open Harriers' Facebook page in new window
Link to: Athletics Victoria
Link to: The Foot & Ankle Clinic
Link to: Saucony Australia
Link to: Traralgon Little Athletics Centre

06/10/2016 Newborough Track

Newborough Track 10,000m and 3000m championships – Thursday 6th October 2016

Last Thursday’s run was a special Harriers championship run, held at the Joe Carmody Athletics Track in Newborough. The event consisted of the 3000m novice and junior run, and the 10,000m run. The excitement of running on the track and the prospect of PBs due to the flat, consistent surface drew 43 keen runners to participate.

The 10,000m event was 25 laps of the 400m track. Whilst this may sound daunting to some, the encourage from onlookers and the constant contact with runners around the track allowed for a fun and friendly atmosphere whilst enjoying the perfect Spring evening. Peter Cutler took line honours for the men’s event in a speedy time of 35:46. Peter was closely followed by Steve Quirk only 20 seconds behind (36:26), and in third place was Ian Cornthwaite (38:31) who never shows any sign of slowing down. Young gun Riley Evans won the under 18 boys, crossing the line in 38:09. The women’s event was taken out by Molly Irvine, completing the 25 laps in 41:36. In second place for the women was Karen Graham (44:40), and then it was Jenny Northe in third place with a time of 45:58.

The 3000m event was short and fast, with the women’s novice event being won by track champion Georgia Pearson, in an impressive time of 12:13. Simone Forbes finished second (12:49), and third place was won by Diana Van Rhine in a time of 15:46. The men’s novice run was won by Ben Bailey in 11:11, showing his experience and knowledge of track running. Second place for the men’s novice was Paul Odgers (16:34) and third place went to Tim Buckley finishing in 18:25.

The junior girls event was won by Jemma Bailey (19:57) and in second place was Ameli Kraft-Murat (22:09). For the junior boys, it was Hunter Bailey in 16:45, followed by Nicholas Kraft-Murat (26:09). It is great to see these brother and sister duos becoming our next generation of runners.

This Thursday (13th October), we see the start of the Summer series taking off from Chook Hill on Old Melbourne Road, Morwell, just past the Water Factory. The run begins at 6.00pm, please arrive early to sign up with our volunteers. New runners and walkers are encouraged to come and have a go!


Summer Run No1 Newborough Track 10 km
Place Name
3 KM
1 Ben Bailey 0:11:11
2 Georgia Pearson 0:12:13
3 Simone Forbes 0:12:49
4 Diana Van Rhine 0:15:46
5 Belinda Heafield 0:16:28
6 Hunter Bailey 0:16:45 Junior
7 Michelle Colwell 0:17:21
8 Jemma Bailey 0:19:57 Junior
9 Ameli Kraft-Murat 0:22:09 Junior
10 Deb Henry 0:25:06
11 Nicholas  Kraft-Murat 0:26:09 Junior
12 Tim Buckley 0:18:25 Started late , took their own times.
13 Paul Odgers 0:16:34
10 KM
1 Peter Cutler 0:35:46
2 Steve Quirk 0:36:26
3 Riley Evans 0:38:09 Under 18
4 Ian Cornthwaite 0:38:31
5 Simon Forbes 0:40:40
6 Bryan Cake 0:40:49
7 Tony Arrowsmith 0:41:13
8 Molly Irvine 0:41:36
9 Steve McLeod 0:41:37
10 Glenn Graham 0:42:15
11 Mark Van Der Meulen 0:43:41
12 Karen Graham 0:44:40
13 Gary Fox 0:44:53
14 Adrian Harper 0:45:03
15 Pete Sanders 0:45:51
16 Jack Callaway 0:45:51
17 Jenny Northe 0:45:58
18 Kayla Gallert 0:46:01
19 Edi Murat 0:46:25
20 Liz Kenny 0:49:17
21 Sue Elsdon 0:49:24 1 lap extra. Dunno why, ran out of fingers and toes maybe
22 Tania Whitehead 0:49:43
23 Jason Irvine 0:50:27
24 Bob Duljas 0:56:19 1 Lap short. My watch said 10 km so I stopped!!!
25 Helen Whitby 0:57:07
26 Georgia Callaway 0:58:56
27 Simon Hemming 0:59:22
28 Barry Higgins 0:59:41
29 Ian Heafield 1:02:34
30 Jason Collier 1:16:47