Open Traralgon Marathon website in a new window
Open Harriers' Facebook page in new window
Link to: Athletics Victoria
Link to: The Foot & Ankle Clinic
Link to: Saucony Australia
Link to: Traralgon Little Athletics Centre

21/04/2016 Stockdale Road

21/04/16 – Stockdale Road 5km

The 2016 winter season kicked off on Thursday night in Traralgon with the run taking in Stockdale Road and surrounds. It was almost as if the weather knew we were beginning our ‘winter’ season, with the night bringing a cool change from the warmth the day before. However, it did not stop 43 keen runners and walkers turning up for the 5km course.

Ray Ellis and Tim Buckley joined us again for a 2.4km walk. Both finished in 23 minutes 6 seconds.

Eli Van Rhine and Michelle Colwell both finished first on the handicap last week and both repeated those wins finishing first again on Thursday with times of 19:36 and 29:11 respectively. For the men, second place was won by Peter Grixti, 31:24 and in third place was Tony Arrowsmith, 21:51. Hilary Meyer was second on the handicap for the women with a time of 20:42 and third was taken out by Katie Ryan 24:43.

Thursday night saw some new faces at the club, with Dru Berryman and Nick Finch showing their impressive speed finishing outright first and second respectively, with times of 18:29 and 18:32, only 3 seconds separating them. The third outright fastest male was Glenn Graham who ran 19:26.

The fastest outright female for the night was Molly Irvine, running a fast time of 20:40, and was followed closely by Hilary Meyer in second place with 20:42. Karen Graham finished as third fastest female, running 21:43.

Next week (28th April) will be held at the Newborough Track. This is not a regular Thursday night social run, it is the Track Championships and will host the 2000m junior, 5000m senior and 2000m novice events. Entry is $2 for the 2000m events and $5 for the 5000m event, however entry into the race track is free. The 2000m run will begin at 5.50pm, with the 5000m run going into two groups at 6.00pm (sub 22min runners) and 6.25pm for over 22min runners. This event is open to everyone and the public is encouraged to join in. For more information on the Traralgon Harriers running events, please visit


1. Dru Berryman 18:29, 2. Nick Finch 18:32, 3. Glenn Graham 19:26, 4. Eli Van Rhine 19:36, 5. Steve McLeod 20:29, 6. Molly Irvine 20:40, 7. Hillary Meyer 20:42, 8. Darrel Cross 20:44, 9. Pete Sanders 20:49, 10. Mark Van Der Meulen 21:28, 11. Karen Graham 21:43, 12. Tony Arrowsmith 21:51, 13. Edi Murat 21:53, 14. Warren Shields 22:07, 15. Liz Kenney 22:58, 16. Jenny Northe 23:00, 17. Kayla Gallert 23:06, 18. Kathryn & Matais 24:09, 19. David Mann 24:19, 20. Katie Ryan 24:43, 21. Phill Mayer 24:44, 22. Tania Whitehead 25:36, 23. Michelle Sawyer 26:52, 24. Todd Houghton 26:52, 25. Kaye Livingstone 27:18, 26. Helen Whitby 28:26, 27. Kelly Johnson 28:36, 28. Belinda Heafield 28:49, 29. Becky Mathews 28:59, 30. Bob Duljas 29:02, 31. Michelle Colwell 29:11, 32. Owen Notting 29:18, 33. Ian Heafield 30:35, 34. Lynda Jones 30:57, 35. Peter Grixti 31:24, 36. Mandy Ellis 32:29, 37. Helen Reeves 32:52, 38. Ann Bomers 32:53, 39. Jessica Ruff 35:26, 40. Belinda Ruff 35:28, 41. Jason Collier 35:52

2.4km Walk

Ray Ellis & Tim Buckley, 23:06