Open Traralgon Marathon website in a new window
Open Harriers' Facebook page in new window
Link to: Athletics Victoria
Link to: The Foot & Ankle Clinic
Link to: Saucony Australia
Link to: Traralgon Little Athletics Centre

03/03/2016 Edward Hunter Reserve 5kM Handicap

The bushland trails at Edward Hunter Reserve in Moe was a wonderful location for last Thursday evening’s 5km race. The handicap event encompassed two hilly loops on twisting walking tracks through native bush with the lake as a focal point.

The course was thus satisfyingly demanding and always interesting, requiring mental commitment to maintain reasonable momentum to the top of the steep bits before holding on into the level sections and then recovering on the downs.

Surprisingly high humidity made the race even more challenging and left most participants dripping wet at the finish.

The variable terrain offered by this type of running is a great strength builder and less likely to incur overuse injuries and restricted flexibility from repetitive running action on hard, constant surfaces.

The handicap component was won by Annette Anderson in a net time of 33 minutes 7 seconds. Simone Forbes finished second in a resounding time of 24:24 – the fastest outright time amongst the females.

Tony Arrowsmith, embarking on yet another running comeback, finished third in 27:47

The three outright fastest females were: Simone Forbes, 24:24; Karen Graham, 24:49 and Sue Elsdon, 25:32.

Amongst the three quickest males were: Ian Cornthwaite, 20:25; Glenn Graham in a display of hill running strength, 21:05, finally turning the tables on ultra-competitive Bryan Cake, 21:23.

This Thursday’s (March 10th) race is the unforgettable Rob’s Rambler 6km handicap from Cats Drive, Traralgon South at 6pm.

This is a golden opportunity to escape the bitumen, concrete and boredom of town running/walking and experience the joys of tracks and the bush.

The public is invited to join in.

Please check in well before start time.

Further information:


1. Annette Anderson 33:07, 2. Simone Forbes 24:24, 3. Tony Arrowsmith 27:47, 4. Warren Shields 24:53, 5. Glenn Graham 21:05, 6. Chris Gallivan 28:05, 7. Bryan Cake 21:23, 8. Ian Cornthwaite 20:25, 9. Sue Elsdon 25:32, 10. Todd Houghton 26:48, 11. Mark Van Der Meulen 24:59, 12. Edi Murat 25:06, 13. Michelle Sawyer 27:37, 14. Michelle Colwell 35:49, 15. Karen Graham 24:49, 16. Steve McLeod 22:50, 17. Georgia Callaway 29:59, 18. David Mann 29:00, 19. Jenny Northe 26:03, 20. Rick Mann 35:42, 21. Barry Higgins 32:57, 22. Angelina Diamente 31:09, 23. Ryan S. 31:09, 24. Andrew Legge 28:27, 25. Pete Sanders 25:34, 26. Jason Colier 38:11, 27. Tania Whitehead 29:25, 28. Mandy Ellis 36:32, 29. Ann Bomers 39:36, 30. John Jervis 39:59, 31. Helen Reeves 42:12, 32. Bob Duljas 36:32, 33. Carly Lanigan 53:13.